sell books sell books
Sign In

About Canada

Canada is a 2nd largest country after Russia, made up of 10 provinces and three territories. It can be divided into five areas.

  • The East (also called the Atlantic region). This region includes the provinces of Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island.
  • The Central region includes the provinces of Quebec and Ontario.
  • The Prairies include Manitoba, Saskatchewan and some parts of Alberta.
  • The West includes Alberta and British Columbia.
  • The North is made up of the three territories of Nunavut, Yukon, and the Northwest Territories. Each province and territory has its own capital city where the provincial or territorial government is located.


  • Occupying the northern half of North America, Canada is the second-largest country in the world (after Russia.)
  • From east to west, the country encompasses six time zones. Canada shares a 5,525-mile boundary with the U.S.
  • The Atlantic Ocean hugs the coastline to the east, the Pacific Ocean to the west.
  • The country is made up of 10 provinces and three territories.
  • When it comes to geography - diversity is the word. Fertile plains, vast mountain ranges, lakes, rivers, wilderness forests and Arctic tundra to the far north
  • Canada has a population of about 32.5 million.
  • The official currency is the Canadian dollar.
  • In random order, the major cities are Victoria, Toronto, Vancouver, Montreal, Ottawa, Calgary, Edmonton and Halifax.
  • The country enjoys four distinct seasons and six time zones.
  • English and French are the two official languages. English is the mother tongue of 59 per cent of the population.
  • Canada has 11 national holidays: New Year's Day, Good Friday, Easter Sunday, Easter Monday, Victoria Day (Monday preceding May 25), Canada Day (July 1 or July 2 if July 1 is a Sunday, Labour Day (first Monday of September), Thanksgiving (second Monday of October), Remembrance Day (November 11), Christmas Day and Boxing Day (December 26) and February 18 is Family Day.
  • The maple leaf is the national symbol.
Back to top